Karibu Rafiki (Welcome Friend)

July 15, 2010

I thought I wasn’t going to blog. But after reading a special friend’s blog it ignited something in me. I guess you could say it challenged me to type about what I spend most of my time doing that I have never written about on here. She talked about her job (nurse), which I call her ministry.

Well, I’ll talk about Kenya, which I call my heart.

I think I spend every moment of my days thinking about this wonderful place and the wonderful people there.

Did I ever tell you that I’m moving to Kenya? Well….I’m moving to Kenya. Yeah, it still hasn’t completely sunk in.

What does Kenya mean to me? Kenya means joy, challenges, victory, glory, beauty, pain, thirst, worship, dance, laughter, affection, trials, triumph, ….. I could go on and on.

It’s been a lil over 1 year since I’ve been home from Kenya and it hasn’t left my mind and heart one day. Honestly.

Kenya, I’m so ready for you. To be welcomed home. To be loved on and ministered to by those I’ve sought out to help/love on. The spirit within you and your people is pure and is always optimistic. The fight within you inspires me to become a better person and puts everything into perspective. Kenya, you are so full of joy!!! It makes me smile just to think about it. I love that you are so open and accepting to anyone.  I can’t wait till we meet again and build a stronger and more intentional relationship. I hope that I can repay you for all that you’ve done for me.

See you soon.

Leave a Reply

